The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, Minority Leader McConnell and Minority Leader McCarthy,

On behalf of the **six Utah rural counties** that constitute the Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area, I am writing in **support of the inclusion of the National Heritage Area Act, S. 1942, in any year-end omnibus package**. S. 1942 will reauthorize both of Utah National Heritage Areas, Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area (MPNHA) and Great Basin NHA, for a period of 15 years. S. 1942 also codifies robust protections for private property rights, an issue of great importance in the rural west. Currently, 591 counties across the United States are home to 55 National Heritage Areas (NHAs) authorized by Congress. NHAs serve as economic catalysts for communities across the country, collectively supporting tens of thousands of jobs and contributing billions of dollars to local economies.

We believe the MPNHA has distinguished itself in leveraging federal funds. By keeping administrative expenses low, we have maximized grants for local projects. Between 2006 (when the MPNHA was authorized) and 2022, we received \$4.1 million in federal funds. In that same time frame, we supported projects valued at \$54.1 million, which comes to \$13 in matching funding from state and local governments, nonprofit organizations, and individual donors for every federal dollar.

The six counties in our heritage area, with a cumulative population of 68,000, are rural and economically disadvantaged. The area is below national and state norms in household income and job creation. Most counties in the heritage area have above average unemployment. Based on a conservative multiplier, the MPNHA, by helping spur \$54.1 million in projects, contributed to a \$90 million economic impact in Mormon Pioneer Heritage Area counties.

Existing and future NHAs face ongoing uncertainty due to the congressional reauthorization process that frequently puts federal funding for NHAs at risk. Congressional authorizations for 35 NHAs, including both Utah NHAs, are set to expire in 2023, with 10 more following March 2024.

The authorization for NHAs provide funding stability for communities to improve the local economy, quality of life and tax base through locally controlled public-private partnerships. NHAs foster investments in historic and natural resource preservation and cultural heritage development. In order to sustain their important work, NHAs need long-term predictability.

Sponsored by Senators Debbie Stabenow and Roy Blunt, the National Heritage Area Act, S. 1942, would establish common sunset dates for 45 National Heritage Areas in 35 states by extending the authorization for 15 years. It would further establish the first-ever standardized criteria for designating new NHAs and strengthen accountability by creating an evaluation process for existing sites. S. 1942 was reported favorably of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources and placed on the Senate Legislative Calendar on September 21, 2022.

The House has also advanced similar legislation, having passed the bipartisan National Heritage Area Act, H.R. 1316, as part of the Protecting America's Wilderness and Public Lands Act in February 2021.

I strongly support this bipartisan legislation and urge its inclusion in any year-end omnibus package. I thank you for your leadership and respectfully request your support of the National Heritage Area Act, S. 1942.

Sincerely,

Monte Bona

mon lune

Director

Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area

# On behalf of the following supporters,

## Government

- 1. Scott Bartholomew- Sanpete County Commission Chair
- 2. Kevin Christensen Sanpete County Travel & Development Economic Development
- 3. Lori Nay- Mayor, Gunnison City and Executive Director of Casino Star Theatre
- 4. Janet Fautin- Mayor, Town of Marysvale,
- 5. Kim Soper- Mayor, Panguitch City
- 6. Brent Chamberlain- Kane County Commission
- 7. Roger Roper- Utah Division of State History
- 8. Mike Olsen- Mayor, Mt. Pleasant City
- 9. Garth Ogden- Six County Association of Governments
- 10. Stephen Lisonbee- Utah Center for Rural Life
- 11. Adus Dorsey- Wayne County
- 12. Johnny Parsons- Mayor, Monroe City
- 13. Kelly Stowell- CEBA Kanab Utah

- 14. Dawn Coates- Mt. Pleasant City Library
- 15. Darin Bushman- Piute County Commission
- 16. Shaun Kjar- Ephriam City Manager
- 17. Kent Barton- Manti City Manager

### **Businesses**

- 18. Robert Stevens- Sanpete Messenger
- 19. Paige Frame- McKinnon-Mulherin Inc.
- 20. David Grow- Growth Factors
- 21. Janiel Sego- Beck's Home Furnishings
- 22. George Jones- Track 89 North and South
- 23. Jon Swapp- Eureka Roofing, LLC.
- 24. Bim Oliver- Bim Oliver Consulting
- 25. Faylyn Catmull CentraCom
- 26. Scott Griffin-Griffin Paint
- 27. Bill Burgoyne- Solar Tek
- 28. Jack Widdison- White Peak Ranch
- 29. Thomas Plustwik Thomas Plustwik Restoration
- 30. Brad Smith- Foremost West
- 31. Nicolas Mooney- Restoration
- 32. Jessee Gilstrap- Restoration

#### **Individuals**

- 33. L. Randall Wootton- Volunteer
- 34. Mark and Vicky Allen- Allred Hotel Spring City
- 35. Marcus Ewell- Discovery Road
- 36. Sandra Bigler- Former Mayor and City Council Member
- 37. Emery Polelonema- Native American Ombudsman
- 38. Steven Clark- Mt. Pleasant Mainstreet Committee
- 39. Hannah Bowles- Former Intern
- 40. Mike Earing- Volunteer
- 41. Maryda Gallo- Discovery Road
- 42. Ginny Oliver- Discovery Road
- 43. Ann Bath-Discovery Road
- 44. Teresa Ewell- Volunteer
- 45. Brooke Allred- Former director of public relations
- 46. Sheenah Christensen- Volunteer
- 47. Sierrah Massey- Volunteer

#### **Non-Profits**

- 48. Courtney Syme- Spring City Veterans Memorial Association
- 49. Jerry Klinger- Jewish American Society for Historic Preservation
- 50. Alison Anderson- Friends of Historic Spring City
- 51. Paul Applegarth- Wasatch Academy
- 52. Wendy Hacking- North Sanpete Arts Council
- 53. J. Anthony LaGuardia- Italian Center of the west

- 54. Cindy Shogren- Coffee Depot Gathering Place
- 55. Robert Williams- Teasdale Historical Society
- 56. Gloria Winter- Ephraim Co-op
- 57. Steven Clark- Panoramaland RC&D
- 58. Gaylynn Widdison- Skyline Eventing
- 59. Tudy Standlee- Mt. Pleasant Pioneer Museum and Relic House
- 60. Randee Jaques- Sanpete County Western 4H Horse Council
- 61. Amy Jorgensen- Granary Arts
- 62. Clive Romney- Utah Pioneer Heritage Arts
- 63. Lynn Barton- Central Utah Back Country Horsemen
- 64. Chad Lyman- Escalante Heritage Center